Mon, 05/22/2017 - 12:10 By emziemer

Congratulations to the Open AFS creators  Mahadev Satyanarayanan, Michael L. Kazar, Robert N. Sidebotham,  David A. Nichols, Michael J. West, John H. Howard, Alfred Z. Spector and Sherri M. Nichols, recipients of the ACM Software System Award  for developing the Andrew File System (AFS).

AFS was the first  distributed file system designed for tens of thousands of machines, and  pioneered the use of scalable, secure and ubiquitous access to shared  file data. To achieve the goal of providing a common shared file system  used by large networks of people, AFS introduced novel approaches to  caching, security, management and administration.

Read the full story on the ACM website:

ACM Honors Eminent Researchers for Technical Innovations